An Annotated Letter From Roman Polanski(Idle Words)

Roman Polanski, who is in Switzerland awaiting extradition to the US for the 1977 rape of a thirteen year old girl*, has just released a fascinating open letter, which I have reprinted here with my comments.

Polanski’s letter reads:

Throughout my seven months since September 26, 2009, the date of my arrest at Zurich Airport, where I had landed with a view to receiving a lifetime award for my work from the representative of the Swiss Minister of Culture, I have refrained from making any public statements and have requested my lawyers to confine their comments to a bare minimum. I wanted the legal authorities of Switzerland and the United States, as well as my lawyers, to do their work without any polemics on my part.

I have decided to break my silence in order to address myself direc

Read more over at: Idle Words

Leave a Reply

